SpaceHey Myspace 2.0

Is this nostalgia or time travel.

The Silent Partner
3 min readJan 11, 2022

I’m a 90’s baby. Growing up in what was known as the “Golden Era” for many things culturally. Most of my recollection is of the late 90’s early 2000’s, but it feels good to have been born within a highly admired and respected decade. Growing up from what I remember was the beginning of what we know to be social media today. Now don’t get it twisted, I grew up scrapping my knees, playing manhunt, and talking on 3 way with a house phone to see if a girl was feeling one of my friends or me, yes I grew up on that too, but simultaneously the internet was becoming more and more of a thing.

Now I don’t necessarily remember when it was becoming so popular; I would assume it started with AOL chatrooms, which I was probably still too young to understand how it worked at the time. As time progressed and I was getting older, playing pinball and downloading DBZ characters to draw, WWF or Raw is War dot com became a staple of my childhood online.

Then right before high school, Myspace becomes a thing with Tom and a top 8. Customizing layouts for pages, embedding display music players in your about me, we were the real founders of coding and social media, LOL. To keep it simple, it broadened horizons, especially during that period. My cousin and I were always on Myspace doing all the customizing and interacting and

--

--